Ensuring top quality practice in the voluntary sector


Quality is about the degree to which a product, service or process meets or exceeds the requirements which have been agreed among:

  • Directors/Trustees
  • Senior management
  • Stakeholders 

Quality is about excellence in the way that an organisation is run, in service-delivery and about achieving the very best results.

To achieve this, WCVA has a variety of quality systems to recommend and help you with.


If you want to assess the quality of your volunteer management and involvement, prove and improve the effectiveness of your work with volunteers, and enhance your organisation’s reputation, Investing in Volunteers provides the ideal framework. IiV is available to any voluntary organisation and is equally recognised in all four nations in the UK.

The IiV standards has been active since 1995. It has recently been reviewed and refreshed with the updated standard launched in March 2021. For more information visit www.investinginvolunteers.co.uk or visit our Investing in Volunteers page for details about IiV in Wales.


The real Living Wage is the only UK wage rate that is voluntarily paid by businesses who believe their staff deserve a fair day’s pay for a hard day’s work. Living Wage employers pay the real Living Wage which is higher than the government minimum – they also make sure all their employees in London receive the London Living Wage.

More information about Living Wage can be found on the Living Wage website

WCVA is a proud Living Wage Employer since 2016 and Living Wage Funder since 2018. WCVA also represents Wales on the Living Wage Funders steering committee. 


Cyber Essentials is a Government-backed, industry-supported scheme to help organisations protect themselves against common online threats. It is a simple but effective scheme that will help you to protect your organisation, whatever its size, against a whole range of the most common cyber attacks.

More information about can be found on the Cyber Essentials website.

Cynnig Cymraeg (Welsh Offer) logo


A Welsh Language Development Plan is a great way to prepare your Welsh language provision, its similar to a Welsh language policy or scheme. You can start the process by completing a simple self assessment of your current Welsh language provision. The Welsh Language Commissioner’s Hybu Team will guide you through the process of putting a step by step plan in place which is appropriate for any third sector organisation. Based on your plan we will identify your Cynnig Cymraeg (Welsh Offer). This is your promise to your service users, your staff and volunteers.

Finished plans will received the Commissioner’s approval and use of the Cynnig Cymraeg logo. Receiving approval is a great way to demonstrate to funding bodies and the public that you have a clear plan in place to provide quality Welsh language services. To find out more, visit the Welsh Language Commissioner’s Hybu Team website.


Please get in touch with us to share ideas, experiences and feedback on any quality marks or systems. Contact help@wcva.cymru or 0300 111 0124.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to keep up-to-date and share your feedback!